Chiefs Name Safety Jon McGraw Ed Block Courage Award Winner

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

The Kansas City Chiefs have named safety Jon McGraw (former K-Stater) as their team’s recipient of this year’s Ed Block Courage Award.

The award, named after former Colts athletic trainer Ed Block, is given to one recipient from each NFL team on a yearly basis and is considered one of the league’s most prestigious honors. The award is given to a player exemplifies commitment to the principles of sportsmanship and courage.

I would say Jon McGraw definitely shows those traits on a weekly basis.

McGraw has never been a particularly impressive player but he has been a solid contributor to the Chiefs for a number of years now. If you’ve seen how bad Sabby Piscitelli is when he gets on the field then you know just how important it is to have a solid veteran like McGraw providing depth on your team. Jon may be no Eric Berry but he sure as hell isn’t a Mike Brown.

McGraw has really stepped up his game this season filling in for the injured Eric Berry. He has been especially valuable in run support, often times moving up and playing like a linebacker. Last week, Romeo Crennel trusted McGraw to help shut down San Diego TE Antonio Gates. McGraw often teamed up with another player to jam Gates at the line but there were plenty of times he was forced to defend the future Hall of Fame TE in single coverage. At one point, McGraw drew a crucial pass interference penalty on a play that otherwise would have gone for a TD. Was it a bad call? Probably. Gates pushed off and McGraw had a hold of Gates’ arm. It probably should have bee a non-call.

But Gates got caught and McGraw didn’t. Veteran move. ;)

Congratulations to McGraw. He is a deserving recipient and one of the guys that in my opinion, is a true Chief.

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

Next Chiefs Game Full schedule »

Tags: Ed Block Courage Award Jon McGraw Kansas City Chiefs

comments powered by Disqus