NFL Hall Of Fame Finalists 2013: 2 Chiefs On The List


Andrew Weber-USA TODAY Sports

The Kansas City Chiefs may not be doing a lot of winning on the field but they did score a couple of wins today off of it.

The 2013 NFL Hall of Fame finalists were announced today and there are two former Chiefs in the mix.

First, the greatest NFL guard of all-time, Will Shields is once again a finalist. He joins ten other players from last year’s vote that were not inducted. It was pretty much a tragedy that Shields wasn’t a first-ballot hall of famer but they voting committee has a chance to make up for their error this year.

One of the two senior nominees is former Chiefs and Oilers NT Curley Culp. Culp will be voted on separately for a maximum class of seven. Dave Robinson is the other senior nominee.

After Shields, the other 14 finalists are Guard Larry Allen, tackle Jonathan Ogden, defensive tackle Warren Sapp, defensive end Michael Strahan, running back Jerome Bettis, wide receivers Tim Brown, Cris Carter and Andre Reed, defensive end Charles Haley, linebacker Kevin Greene, cornerback Aeneas Williams, Bill Parcells, Ed DeBartolo, Jr and former Browns/Ravens owner Art Modell.