Kansas City Chiefs Release Depth Chart


The Kansas City Chiefs have released their first depth chart of the season ahead of Friday’s game against the Tampa Bay Buccaneers.

I would say the chart is pretty much what you would expect with the usual ridiculous Todd Haley mind-game antics.

Keep in mind you never can tell what a Todd Haley depth chart means. Last season the first depth chat featured Corey Mays and Demorrio Williams ahead of Jovan Belcher and Derrick Johnson. We all know how that turned out.

I can understand Haley wanting to keep guys that were on the top of the depth chart last year on the top to start this year. That seems pretty fair to me. That way, those guys feel like they have a chance to win their jobs back, even if they really don’t. Demorrio Williams went hard after the starting job last preseason and it showed.

Still, other things you will find as baffling as a Charlie Kaufman movie. Take for instance, that our man Thomas Jones, is still listed ahead of Jamaal Charles on the RB depth chart. Somewhere Big Matt’s head just exploded.

Jerheme Urban is listed as the second wide receiver opposite Dwayne Bowe. This I am fine with. Steve Breaston is going to be in the slot and thus, is technically he third WR and Jonathan Baldwin is a rookie and shouldn’t be just handed the starting job out of the gate. I am fine with him earning it.

Other notables:

-McCluster is sill listed as a WR, behind Bowe. McClain is the starting fullback, followed by Cox and Bannon. Gregg is the starting NT, followed by Toribio and Powe. Justin Houston is third on the LOLB depth chart behind Andy Studebaker and Cameron Sheffield.

Full goods after the jump.

The info comes to us from a Chiefs press release, via Arrowhead Pride.


WR: Jerheme Urban, Steve Breaston, Jonathan Baldwin, Verran Tucker, Jeremy Horne, Chandler Williams, Josue Paul

LT: Branden Albert, David Mims, Butch Lewis

LG: Ryan Lilja, Darryl Harris, Lucas Patterson

C: Casey Wiegmann, Rodney Hudson, Darryl Harris

RG: Jon Asamoah, Bobby Greenwood, Mike Ingersoll, Chris Harr

RT: Barry Richardson, Ryan O’Callaghan

TE: Leonard Pope, Tony Moeaki, Jake O’Connell, Cody Slate, Charlie Gantt

WR: Dwayne Bowe, Dexter McCluster, Terrance Copper, Zeke Markshausen, Chris Manno

QB: Matt Cassel, Tyler Palko, Ricky Stanzi

FB: Le’Ron McClain, Mike Cox, Shane Bannon, Tervaris Johnson

RB: Thomas Jones, Jamaal Charles, Jackie Battle


LDE: Tyson Jackson, Allen Bailey, Amon Gordon

NT: Kelly Gregg, Anthony Toribio, Jerrell Powe

RDE: Glenn Dorsey, Wallace Gilberry, Dion Gales, Brandon Bair

LOLB: Andy Studebaker, Cameron Sheffield, Justin Houston

LILB: Jovan Belcher, Brandon Siler, Justin Cole, Amara Kamara

RILB: Derrick Johnson, Demorrio Williams, Cory Greenwood, Micah Johnson

ROLB: Tamba Hali, Pierre Walters, Eric Bakhtiari, Gabe Miller

LCB: Brandon Flowers, Travis Daniels, Quinten Lawrence, Demond Washington

RCB: Brandon Carr, Javier Arenas, Jalil Brown, Mario Russell

SS: Eric Berry, Reshard Langford, Donald Washington

FS: Kendrick Lewis, Jon McGraw, Sabby PIscitelli, Ricky Price, Javes Lewis


P: Dustin Colquitt, Ryan Succop

K: Ryan Succop, Dustin Colquitt

PR: Javier Arenas, Dexter McCluster, Steve Breaston, Jerheme Urban, Donald Washington

KR: Javier Arenas, Dexter McCluster, Steve Breaston, Quinten Lawrence, Donald Washington